Penalties for DWI offenses in the State of Texas
The chart below represents a top down perspective of the criminal penalties for DWI offenses in the state of Texas, the criminal classification of each type of alcohol related offense, and all potential penalties for said offenses.
|OFFENSE ||CLASSIFICATION||SENTENCING||FINE||TDL SUSPENSION |
|1st DWI & BWI ||CLASS B MISDEMEANOR||MAX 180 DAYS COUNTY ||UP TO $2K||UP TO 1 YEAR |
|2nd DWI & BWI ||CLASS A MISDEMEANOR||MAX 1 YEAR COUNTY||UP TO $4K||UP TO 2 YEARS|
|3rd DWI & BWI ||3RD DEGREE FELONY||2-10YR TDCJ||UP TO $10K||UP TO 2 YEARS|
|DWI ASSAULT ||3RD DEGREE FELONY||2-10YR TDCJ||UP TO $10K||UP TO 2 YEARS|
|DWI MANSLAUGHTER ||2ND DEGREE FELONY||2-10YR TDCJ||UP TO $10K||UP TO 2 YEARS|
|DWI: CHILD PASSENGER ||STATE JAIL FELONY ||180D-2YR STATE JAIL ||UP TO $10K ||UP TO 2 YEARS|
|1st DWI: Open Container Enhancement||CLASS B MISDEMEANOR||CLASS B MISDEMEANOR ||UP TO $2K ||UP TO 1 YEAR|
If you or a loved one were arrested for a DWI offense in the Galveston, Texas region call Tad Nelson, a Board Certified® criminal law attorneys that’s recognized as a ACS/CHAL Lawyer-Scientist, about your case. Attorneys Tad Nelson & Amber Spurlock will do everything in their power to ensure that you get the best possible results from the court of law on your day in court.
Call us today.