Accused of a Crime?
TALK WITH TAD
Put Our DWI Lawyers On Your Side.
It May Be Possible To Get Your Case Dismissed.
If your son, daughter, or other young loved one was arrested for DWI or DUI, and facing prosecution at the Galveston County criminal court for their mistake, call Attorney Tad Nelson today. Our phone number is 409-904-0075.
In most cases, when a juvenile is arrested for drinking and driving, they’re charged with the crime of Driving Under The Influence (DUI).
The main reason why minors & juveniles are usually charged with DUI rather than DWI is that it’s illegal in Texas for a minor to consume alcoholic beverages in the first place – rendering intoxication unnecessary to justify an arrest by local law enforcement agencies.
Texas’ Zero Tolerance Stance on Juvenile DWI
To put it another way, If a police officer determines the minor has used alcohol or any other controlled substance, they’ll be arrested and charged regardless of a determination of their intoxication by law enforcement during their encounter.
If the minor is determined to be legally intoxicated, the stakes are raised.
Drivers under the age of 21 are subject to a strict “Zero Tolerance” policy if they’re arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or DUI in the state of Texas. Possession of marijuana may be enough to warrant an arrest for possession of a controlled substance in addition to separate criminal charges for DUI.
When lawyering adult criminal cases, I’ve found it common to look around the court and see parents with their juveniles in Galveston’s criminal court due to DUI arrests in the immediate weeks after Spring Break.
Minors Are At Risk of Serious Injury
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has determined that minors are more likely to die in DWI-Accidents – further justifying Texas’ Zero Tolerance Policy when it comes to DWI/DUI and minors.
Potential Criminal Penalties
A DUI offense is Class C Misdemeanor in the State of Texas. If convicted, the arrested party will suffer the suspension of their Texas Driver License. If this occurs, you’ll have 15 days to retain qualified legal counsel to fight the suspension of their driving privileges.
Other penalties may include fines and community service assignments, probation, and attendance in educational programs geared to preventing future criminal offenses, alcoholism, drug use and the promotion of safety.
Seeking Legal Representation for a Juvenile?
It’s Ok. We All Made Mistakes When We Were Young
Galveston DWI attorney Tad Nelson is a born and raised Galvestonian. Yes, he understands what it’s like to be young, make a mistake and get into trouble.
If you know you need to talk with an experienced & charismatic DWI/DUI defense lawyer with impeccable credentials as a Board Certified Texas criminal law attorney, talk with Tad.
Mr. Nelson is highly educated and trained in all areas relating to DUI, DWI, BWI, human biochemistry, Gas Chromatography, and is an accredited ACS/CHAL Lawyer-Scientist. He brings over 30 years of experience to the table for his clients.
To schedule your free consultation, call our law office today at 409-904-0075.